Nancy Hoefs Memorial Award for Outstanding 1st-Year Teacher

Outstanding First-Year Teacher

This award recognizes an outstanding first-year teacher of the English language arts.

The award recipient receives a certificate, free registration at the WCTE state convention, and formal recognition of the Nancy Hoefs Memorial Award at a convention session.

Full-time teachers in their first permanent position are eligible to be nominated. Eligible first-year teachers will have taught during the 2023-2024 school year.

Criteria for selection include the following:

  1. Contribution to the teaching of English language arts.  This contribution may include, but is not limited to, using innovative teaching techniques, curriculum development in literature, reading, writing, speaking, listening, or media study; or participating in faculty activities related to English.
  2. Professional commitment.  Nominees should have a strong interest in professional development.  Indicators of this interest might include membership in professional organizations such as WCTE, NCTE, WSRA, WAMLE, IRA, WCA, etc.
  3. Staff and community relations.  Nominees should have a good relationship with parents and others in the community and should have demonstrated potential for leadership among colleagues.

For each nominee submit the following materials:

  1. A cover letter indicating the nominee’s name, email address, local mailing address, telephone number, and school.
  2. Two letters of recommendation.  At least one letter needs to be from a colleague (teacher, administrator, or other) at the school.

Upload nomination materials electronically by May 19, 2024 here. (Note due date extension)

Please direct questions to David Roloff at droloff@uwsp.edu

Recent recipients:

Jonathan Idárraga
Onalaska High School

Shannon Lagore
Oakfield Middle/High School

Dianna Herron
Rufus King International School, Milwaukee

Elly Hauber
Rufus King High School, Milwaukee

Jesse Martin
James Madison High School, Milwaukee

Breanna Hanson
Chequamegon Middle School, Park Falls

Anna Tempus
Stevens Point Area Senior High School

Jason Lopez
Brookfield Central High School, Brookfield