Lee Burress Intellectual Freedom Award

WCTE wishes once again to honor an educator or group with the Lee Burress Intellectual Freedom Award at the Annual Convention.

This award recognizes an educator or group who has been an advocate for expression free from censorship and for humane communication.  It is designed to acknowledge the work done by educators who teach and extol the tenets of free speech and who urge responsible, humane and caring communication.  Such work may be demonstrated in particular lessons, special projects and the ongoing style and goals set by an educator.  It was begun in honor of Lee Burress, a long time educator at UW-Stevens Point, who exemplified these attributes in his life as well as his teaching.

Those wishing to nominate a possible recipient for this award should write a letter of nomination, describing the qualifications of the nominee. Nomination letters can be uploaded on our Google Awards form here. Please include any supporting materials you believe would strengthen the nomination. Nominations are due May 19, 2024 (note extension of due date).

Additional questions can be directed to the Award chair, Trista Owczarzak.

All nominators will be notified of the status of their nomination.  The recipient will receive the award at the WCTE Convention.

Recent recipients:


Megan Schliesman
Cooperative Children’s Book Center in Madison


Jeff Wright, Lynn Frick, Chad Harnish and  Lynn Evarts
Sauk Prairie High School, Sauk Prairie, WI

Alex Bledsoe, Amy Lyle, and six high school students
Mount Horeb High School, Mount Horeb, WI