Outstanding Student Teacher Awards: Deadline May 15

Each year WCTE selects two senior English education students to receive the Outstanding Student Teacher Award.  Winners will be honored with a certificate and a one-year membership in WCTE.  In 2018, award recipients will receive free registration at an upcoming WCTE event such as a state convention (including one night accommodation at the convention hotel, if applicable), and formal recognition of the Outstanding Student Teacher Award at a convention session.

Individuals who student taught or were interns in the Fall 2017 or the Spring 2018 semesters are eligible.  Each institution can nominate one candidate.  Nominees should have a strong commitment to teaching, show leadership in and out of the classroom, possess strong communication skills, maintain rapport with students, and develop effective professional relationships with colleagues.  Letters of recommendation should emphasize these criteria.

David Roloff
Department of English
UW-Stevens Point

Recent recipients:

Chelsey Gruetzmacher
Student teaching: Lincoln High School, Wisconsin Rapids


Amanda Habert
Student teaching: Wilson and Washington Junior High Schools, Manitowoc


Rachel Bargender
UW-Stevens Point
Student teaching: Stratford High School

Patrick Porwoll
Student teaching: Reagan College Prep High School


Emily Ager-Feser
UW-Stevens Point
Student Teaching: D.C. Everest High School,

Haley Nattinger
Student teaching: Riverside University High School, Milwaukee


Michelle (Velma) Fritz
Student teaching: Milwaukee School of Languages and Rufus King International High School

Chelsea Schumann
DeForest Area High School and Whitehorse Middle School in Madison